2018-2022 Utqiagvik Declaration

Inuit Circumpolar Council

Implementing the Utqiaġvik Declaration 2018-2022

Inuit Circumpolar Council: Founded in 1977 by the late Eben Hopson, Sr. of Utqiaġvik, Alaska (formerly Barrow), the Inuit Circumpolar Council (ICC) has flourished and grown into a major international non-governmental organization (NGO) representing approximately 180,000 Inuit of Alaska, Canada, Greenland, and Chukotka (Russian). In 1980, ICC delegates convened at a General Assembly in Nuuk, and formally adopted a charter and bylaws followed by the election of Hans-Pavia Rosing, the first ICC President. The organization holds Economic and Social Council NGO Consultative Status II at the United Nations and is a Permanent Participant at the Arctic Council.

To thrive in our circumpolar homeland of Inuit Nunaat we had the vision to realize that we must speak with a united voice on issues of common concern and combine our energies and talents towards protecting and promoting our way of life. The principal goals of ICC are, therefore, to:

ICC represents the interests of the Inuit and we have offices in four Arctic regions – Alaska, Canada, Greenland and Chukotka. We are one people, in a single homeland, across four countries.

To further explore the beliefs and concerns of Inuit Nunaat click here.